Sports News

The Madden curse: will Drew Brees be the next one?

It all started as a simple joke. A given player manage to make it to the cover of any Madden game, to end up getting seriously injured they following year, or, if no injuries are present, they just underachieve. And after people notices the connection between the bad times for the player and their previous appearance on the cover of a Madden franchise video game, the rumors of a curse suddenly start to spread.

The so-called “Madden Curse” is nowadays considered an honor for some and a true disgrace for others, as of all fourteen players whom have been featured since 99’ (when EA Sports decided to include the picture of a player which was considered to be at the top of their career) have had a terrible year while the game is current (and, as per the “curse”, back luck leaves the player when the next madden game is released).

And, on Friday, Drew Brees, the quarterback that led the Saints to a victory in Super Bowl XLIV was named as the next one to be featured in the 2011 NFL edition of Madden, which will be released the 10 of August.

READ: Sports Betting Explained

Well, when it comes to professional football, an outstanding year usually means that it was also physically demanding, which might be one of the main reasons for the curse, and injuries are a very possible outcome.

Of course, nobody at EA will admit that there is an actual curse concerning the game (even more when it comes to their most lucrative gaming franchise, the NFL). This is the list of players that have made it to the game as a replacement for Madden itself, who used to be featured on the cover of the game until the 1998 release:

99’: Garrison Heart (San Francisco 49ers)

2000: Dorsey Levens and Barry Sanders (Green Bay Packers and Detroit Lions respectively)

01’: Eddie George (Tennessee Titans)

02’: Dante Culpepper (Minnesota Vikings)

03’: Marshall Faulk (St. Louis Rams)

04’: Michael Vick (Atlanta Falcons)

05’: Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens)

06’: Donovan McNabb (Philadelphia Eagles)

07’: Shaun Alexander (Seattle Seahawks)

08’: Vince Young (Tennessee Titans)

09’: Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers)

10’: Troy Polamalu and Larry Fitzgerald (Pittsburgh Steelers and Arizona Cardinals respectively)

And now is the turn for Drew Brees, we will have to wait and see if the curse is real or if the quarterback for the Saints will break it for good…

Categories: Sports News